Geometry Planning Guide

Click here to access and comment on the Geometry Planning guide

Units:

  1. Constructions
  2. Congruence
  3. Transformations & Similarity
  4. Right triangles & Coordinate Proof
  5. Applied Trigonometry & Solids
  6. Circles

In the spirit of Geoff Krall’s Problem Based Curriculum Maps, I attempted to organize my geometry curriculum and learning targets along with associated activities, tasks & lessons. In order to keep this as a useful document, I tried to only include the tasks that I have actually used in my geometry classes. I am interested in adding & deleting from this document regularly to keep if useful for me (and hopefully others). I plan to have the second semester completed this summer, as I am trying to develop this as I go this school year. 

[update 7/25/16: It is finally completed!]

I have shamelessly stolen from all over the MTBoS, Math Vision Project, Engage NY & the Unit Blueprints Project and tried to give credit as much as possible.

Please share any criticisms, activities that I should add, activities that are misaligned, etc… in the comments.

13 thoughts on “Geometry Planning Guide

  1. Oh my goodness! This is amazing! It almost makes me wish I was teaching geometry… 🙂 I’m definitely going to share this with my teachers. Thanks Lisa!

  2. Lisa, this is an awesome document. I tried to start the year with something like this, but yours is so-well organized. Thanks again for sharing your hard work (and saving me some!).

    • Thank you! It is a start. I am building it as I go so, I’ll have it complete by the end of the school year. Next year I hope I can just add or delete resources as I go & do another 180 blog.

  3. Thanks for sharing! I shared this with all of our graduating secondary math education students as they begin their teaching careers in the fall. What a fantastic resource!

  4. Thanks for sharing! Your earlier post said you will have it completed soon. If you have an updated copy, where can I get it? Thanks!

    • I’m so glad you find this useful!
      I never did fill in all of those empty details. I still intend to, but I haven’t yet! You can always make a copy and add/delete anything you deem necessary.

    • Thanks for the nudge! After many hours. I can (finally) consider this completed! You should access the most current version from the link above.

Leave a Reply

