Heavy Heart

I decided to start writing after reading this tweet and many others like it flooding my feed:

shooting

My heart is heavy. I can feel the stress of this situation so close to my home and being the second mass shooting in my town this month.

This, after I spent the morning thinking about the negative affects that stress has on thinking and learning. All of the people living in this city must feel it to some degree.

There is no blame to place, just a deep sadness that so frequently, individuals end up loosing touch with humanity. And its frequency seems to be increasing at an increasing rate.

Do you think that if schools more proactively taught and had students practice empathy that it would increase peace in our country? How can we teach empathy and help it to develop in our future adults?

We have to do something.

Leave a Reply

