Day 100: Discovering Trigonometry

I tried searching high & low for a trigonometric discovery activity that matched my students needs and I couldn’t find what I had in mind. I came across Tina Cardone’s awesome Geogebra lesson & I created a worksheet that goes along with it. Thank you for the inspiration!

Students were engaged all period and I heard a lot of aha!’s and students even applied trigonometry to find the missing length of a side of a triangle and I just walked around! I love when students learn and I don’t have to bask at them! Hopefully this will help to make tomorrow’s interactive notes more meaningful.

2014-02-10 13.15.45 2014-02-10 09.44.35

2 thoughts on “Day 100: Discovering Trigonometry

  1. Your pacing is almost exactly the same as where we are right now. I copied this activity yesterday, and finished it with one class today. The ah ha moments were great! In the past I have had students measure angles with protractors and draw triangles. They got so wrapped up in measuring the angles and not drawing accurately. This was SO much better! Thank you so much for sharing your work! It was fantastic!

Leave a Reply

