Programming: SBG skills list for the first 6 weeks

As I mentioned here, I am a little unsure of exactly how this class will operate, but I have to start somewhere. This took me a long time, mostly because I’m not sure how to pace this class. It will be a whole different animal compared to geometry. The fun part is that I will learn something & hopefully students will too! I am still blown away at how quickly this class filled to capacity. I’ve never taught a class that students really wanted to take! Lots of pressure!

2 thoughts on “Programming: SBG skills list for the first 6 weeks

  1. I wish I could help. I just wanted to say I love your statement: “I’ve never taught a class that students really wanted to take! Lots of pressure!” Several years ago I took my first and only programming course, C++, at the local community college. With absolutely no prior knowledge I was a fish out of water. I would have felt more successful had I been in your class. With that in mind, do you have extensions planned for students who get it?

    • I plan to make this largely self paced so students who pick it up quickly can move ahead to Javascript when they finish learning the basics. I am not sure how I will make that work with SBG. I’m considering meeting with each student, setting goals (their Learning Targets) and then only grading their proficiency on the for which they are ready. But I also want there to be incentive to strive for as much learning as possible. I thought I’d approach the first month or so with this list of learning targets and see how it goes. This is also my first year teaching at this school, so I have much to learn.

Leave a Reply

